I Had TROUBLE in getting to SOLLA SOLLEW

TroubleSollaSollewPublished 1965 by Random House

SUMMARY:

The story opens with our happy-go-lucky narrator taking  a stroll through the Valley of Vung where nothing went wrong, until one day when things took a turn. First, he is looking back and not paying attention to where he’ is walking and falls and sprains his tail. Then he is so focused on looking forward that a Quilligan Quail sneaks up behind him and bites his tail!

“And I learned there are troubles
Of more than one kind
Some come from ahead
And some come from behind.”

So he decides to be extra careful and looks forward and backward at the same time.

Sollew09

Just when he thinks he has solved his troubles he is attacked from above and below by a Skritz and a Skrink! At that very moment, when he is surrounded by troubles a chap pulls up in a One-Wheeler Wubble pulled by a camel. The chap tells our hero about a place called Solla Sollew

“Where they never have troubles! At least, very few.”

Then he invites him to join him on his travels to Solla Sollew. They climb all night over bumpy rocks. When dawn comes the camel gets sick and they have to pull him up hill to find a doctor. Pretty quickly the Wubble chap hops on the One-Wheeler and our hero has to pull him and the camel along by himself. The chap explains:

“This is called teamwork. I furnish the brains.
You furnish the muscles, the aches and the pains.
I’ll pick the best roads, tell you just where to go
And we’ll find a good doctor more quickly, you know.”

When they find the doctor the Wubble chap stays with the camel and tells our hero that he is almost there. He just has to catch The Happy Way Bus which goes directly to Solla Sollew,

“On the banks of the beautiful River Wah-Hoo.”

When he gets to the bus stop there is a sign that explains that the bus driver ran over four nails and popped all four tires so there is no bus coming.

56622pi-L8DINJCP

So, our hero continues on foot. A storm comes and he tries to get some sleep in a small shelter. Just as he finally sleeps and is dreaming about big fluffy “silk and satin marshmallow-stuffed pillows,” he is rudely awakened by a flood pushing the shelter downhill. As he’s falling he says to himself,

“Now I really don’t see
Why troubles like this have to happen to me!”

flood soll

He floats for twelve days on the remains of the shelter. Luckily, someone throws him a rope and pulls him out of the water, but when he gets to the top of the rope he is confronted by General Genghis Kahn Schmitz. General Schmitz announces that there is a war and he must join the fight.

The war is against the The Perilous Poozer of Pompelmoose Pass! He is given a pea shooter and thrown into the fray. When he gets into the middle of battle he finds that there is not just one Poozer, but a whole mass of Poozers! The army retreats in defeat, but our hero is left surrounded by Poozers.

He manages to run away and jump down a pipe that says, “Vent Number Five.” This throws him into a tunnel full of random creatures and objects.

“The traffic down there
Was a mess, I must say,
With billions of birds
Going all the wrong way.
They bumped me with bikes
and they banged me with dishes.
I ran into ladders,
Beds, bottles and fishes.
I skidded on garbage
I fell in a horn.
Troubles! I wished
I had never been born!”

He finally escapes through a small trap door. He looks around and discovers he is at the beautiful River Wah-Hoo! He has finally made it to Solla Sollew!

Sollew29

When he gets to the gate the doorman shakes his hand and welcomes him.

“Welcome, my son, to this beautiful land.
Welcome to sweet, sunny Solla Sollew,
Where we never have troubles.
At least very few.
As a mater of fact, we have only just one.
Imagine! Just one little trouble, my son.
And this one little trouble,
As you will now see,
Is this one little trouble I have with the key…”

As the doorman tries to put the key in the lock a Key-Slapping Slippard slaps it out of his hand. It’s bad luck to kill a Slippard and they don’t know what else to do. So, the City of Solla Sollew has gone to pot! Then the doorman decides to leave Solla Sollew to go to Boola Boo Ball where there are “No troubles at all!” and he encourages our hero to come with him.

Our hero does some quick thinking and decides to go back home where he may run into all sorts of troubles…

“But I’ve bought a big bat.
I’m all ready, you see.
Now my troubles are going
To have troubles with me!”

Sollew34

ABOUT:

solla-sollew

Seuss describes this as, “not one of my more successful books,” but the message is a great one.  We can’t just run away from our troubles. There is no place in the world that doesn’t have troubles, so no matter where you go, you will always run into tough times.

This is illustrated very well at the end, when our hero has a chance to go to another city that claims to have no troubles, he realizes that he’d rather be home. He decides to go back and face his troubles head on with a confident smirk on his face.

The art for the last few pages is fantastic. There is a spread with the doorman headed off right to go to the new city and our hero is on the left making a quizzical face. When you flip the page everything else is gone, it’s just a yellow background, but our hero is in the exact same place, making the exact same face. This shows that his surrounding is no longer what’s important. We see him just thinking. Then the next page is him back at home, bat in hand, ready to challenge his troubles and rather happy about it!

HISTORY:

The dedication was to his niece and it reads:

for
Margaretha Dahmen Owens
with love
and with thanks

There is a sort of fun little detail in the book. In a much earlier post I mentioned that the fish in a bowl that is famous in The Cat in the Hat actually appears in some earlier books such as If I Ran the Circus. Well, it also appears in this book! In the tunnel that our hero travels through just before he gets to Solla Sollew, among all the various creatures and objects, is a fish bowl with a single fish in it! It is also the only other object on the page, other than our hero, to be orange. Everything else is greens and purples, so the fish really stands out.

Seuss had a difficult time completing this book. He had been writing a lot of shorter and simpler Beginner Books so going back to the “big book” format was challenging. He and his wife and co-publisher/editor, Helen, were having a tough time with their marriage as well. He was beginning an affair with the woman that would eventually become his second wife (she was married at the time, as well, and had two children.) Helen wrote to a friend at the time:

“About two weeks before completion of every book, he seems to go into a tailspin, decides that nothing in the book is any good, that he can’t possibly finish it, and…I have a great job to do in keeping everything from falling in the scrap basket. I’m at my wits end to try not to be rude.”

TroubleSollaSollewtumblr_m4pykqEW0V1qgmh41o1_500

I think it is interesting to point out that the color of the tree, camel, one-wheeler and hill side are completely different (and pastel) on the front than they are in the book (much more bold and saturated.)

The newer cover sort of jumps ahead. Instead of showing us the troubles on the road to Solla Sollew, it shows us the arrival at Solla Sollew with the doorman and key. It seems less adventurous, but the strong primary colors definitely grab my attention more than the pastel colors of the original cover.

0007175159.01._SCLZZZZZZZ_

FAVORITE QUOTE:

“Then he sat and he worked with his brain and his tongue
And he bossed me around just because I was young.
He told me go left. Then he told me go right.
And that’s what he told me all day and all night.”

i-had-trouble-in-getting-to-solla-sollew-image-2

This quote is great, because it shows us a child’s perspective so well. They can often feel like they’re being bossed around and told to do all the work because they’re young. It doesn’t just apply to children though. Anyone who has had a supervisor can definitely relate to someone looking as if they’re just sitting around doing all the “brain work” while  you feel like you’re running around doing all the actual work!

FAVORITE IMAGE:

This image has such amazing contrast with the brightly colored trees on a black background. There is no white (other than the One-Wheeler) which makes the page so much more full. My eyes want to take it all in at the same time. The cool colors and little moon convey nighttime so well.  The expressions on each face are so distinct; wonder/fright, content and anxiety.  It’s just a great image.

tumblr_m4pykqEW0V1qgmh41o1_500

Thanks for reading,

Jack St.Rebor

11 comments on “I Had TROUBLE in getting to SOLLA SOLLEW

  1. Mark Carter says:

    This is one of my favourite Seuss books, and the one that got me hooked when I was six or seven. I borrowed it from the school library and never looked back. I’m surprised that he thought it was one of his less succesful works – the artwork is absolutely fantastic. The wacky architecture, the familiar gravity-defying hills, the trees and mountains, some memorable characters; it’s all here. Even now, I get shivers down the spine every time I open this book.
    Thanks for this posting – this really is my favourite blog in the universe!!

    • jackstrebor says:

      Thanks Mark! I’m glad you like it and that it can bring back such great memories. I think you’re right; it definitely has all of the required ingredients to be a great Dr. Seuss book. Seuss was just a bit hard on himself, like most artist 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      • Mark Carter says:

        I’ll keep reading as long as you keep posting!
        By the way, have you ever seen the Lovecraft / Dr. Seuss parody? It’s called “Call Of Cthulhu”, and it’s really pretty good. The artwork especially is excellent. You don’t have to know much about Lovecraft (which I don’t) to enjoy it.
        I have it as a PDF file, and will happily send it if you’re interested.

      • jackstrebor says:

        I haven’t written in so long! But I’m glad to hear you enjoy my posts. The Cal of Cthulhu is so well done! The artwork is absolutely fantastic. Thank you for sharing (I found it online.)

  2. Paul says:

    This book moved me incredibly, and I did not read it until I was 44. There’s something about the character of the struggle just resonated so strongly, especially where he ends up down Vent #5. I keep a photocopy of the last page on my wall. Really.

    • jackstrebor says:

      Paul, I absolutely love that Dr.Seuss can anyone at any age at many different points in our lives. I’m glad to here you keep a photocopy of the final page. It’s a great one.

  3. marxiami says:

    Thanks for this! I love this book and the last page always makes me laugh. I wish I could find original artwork, print or poster of some of these pages. I would have them mounted!

    Todd

    • jackstrebor says:

      Todd, it is rather difficult to find original prints for Solla Sollew, but you should consider making your own. You could scan a page you like and mount/frame it. It could look lovely!

  4. […] Parents’ Magazine Press books, Arch books, Little Golden books, and Dr. Seuss books (especially I Had Trouble in Getting to Solla Solew) were forming my lifetime perspective at least as powerfully (and for just as much bad and good) as […]

  5. Matt Bennett says:

    Seuss’s finest work!

  6. Scott says:

    My Favourite Dr Seuss book. It used to be my favourite present for 5-7 year old readers but for decades now it’s been almost impossible to find in book stores. The much inferior “Oh the Places You’ll go ” is everywhere and this one had seemed to vanish. Thank goodness for internet distribution as I’ve managed to give it as a present the last couple of Christmas’s and bought a copy for myself. Loved his send up of the glorious military campaign that ends in an ignominious retreat.

Leave a Reply

